Please allow me to introduce myself…

15 Aug

It all starts here.

Let’s start with redundancy and hope it doesn’t happen again: As the title may suggest, I am Rhanda, and I watch movies. Tons and tons of movies. You may find yourself wondering how I manage to watch as many as I do, but don’t worry about me. I don’t sleep much, never have, and I’ve got to fill this time somehow.

The use of the word “watches” is quite purposeful. Watching to me implies something much, much different than if I were to say “Rhanda sees” or “Rhanda observes” or “Rhanda looks at.” Watching is active; the implication in watching is, to me, that I am adding my own thoughts and emotions to whatever my eyes are seeing. And that’s a fair description of how I view cinema.

These days I consume movies at a pace some would consider frightening.  I don’t catch as many films in the theater as I’d like, but I try to whenever possible. If you’ll let me, I’ll be happy to tell you about each and every movie I see, from here on out.

Disclosures: I am not, nor do I claim to be, any sort of film expert. Possibly I am marginally more familiar with “classic” movies than most, but there are wide gaps in my film education. I’m working on it. I have an above-average love of horror movies and an above-average dislike of romantic comedies. My home theater set-up consists of televisions which are not HD capable and a computer which is but has a slowish Internet connection. I have had a Netflix account since April 2003, and I also use Netflix Instant frequently. I pay for this subscription myself. I also buy every ticket to movies I see in the theater. If this ever changes, I will be open and honest about that fact. I won’t adhere to a strict publishing schedule, but I average about five films a week, so you can expect frequent updates.

Rules (for me, not you): I will rate films on a four-star scale. I reserve the right to award a film Zero Stars, but I will not abuse that right. I reserve the right to award a film Four Stars, but I will not abuse that right either. I will try to read as little as possible about films before seeing them. In the case of classic films, I will have probably read essays about them at some point, but I do not “brush up” before watching a film for the first time. By adhering to this policy, I am trying to ensure that my reviews are my own and are not influenced by overall critical opinion, any of my favorite critics or a really well-written phrase. If I am asked by a reader to review a specific film, I will do so in as timely a manner as possible.

Anything else? Ooh, a list. I do enjoy lists.

Last 5 films I watched before today:

1) Scott Pilgrim vs. The World

2) Bridge to Terabithia

3) Men Who Stare at Goats

4) Raging Bull

5) The Wild and Wonderful Whites of West Virginia

One Response to “Please allow me to introduce myself…”

  1. flatbrokegirl August 22, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

    Welcome to the blogging world, my dear. Your entry about “Kick-Ass” was just that — kickass! 🙂

    By the way, I highly recommend the “Funny Not Slutty” Ning network for pumping up your blog. http://funnynotslutty.ning.com/ I’ve met some wonderful gals and great followers through that.

    If I could only get my own blog back on track… I guess I will once I make this place an actual home instead of Axl Rose’s hotel room!

Leave a Reply

