31 Nights of Horror

30 Sep

What horrors await?

For some folks,  that chill in the air when October rolls around speaks to them of football games and candy apples, mulled wine and vibrant leaves. For me, it speaks of the tingle that creeps down your spine when you know the killer’s in the room, but that poor girl at Camp Crystal Lake doesn’t. That gotta-hide-your-eyes dread in the pit of your stomach or that fight-or-flight heartbeat after a good jump scare. After a summer’s worth of big budget action flicks and before Oscar season sets in, well, that’s the prime time for some bloody good gore. I wanted to mark the first Halloween season for this site in a big way. It’s simply not good enough to go to all the new horror movies in theaters (plus that’s cost-prohibitive). A couple of essays on my favorite scares doesn’t cut the mustard. Then, I hit on a great plan:

31 NIGHTS OF HORROR.

I’ll check out a different horror film every day for the entire month of October.

Is this utterly mad? Yes. Will my family and friends completely write me off? Maybe. Will my co-workers be in danger after one-too-many chainsaw movies? I hope not.

I generally try to refrain from ODing on horror movies this time of year, but this year, I figured, why not? I’m a card-carrying adult, and watching one too many tales of demonic possession, catastrophe at sleepaway camp or bad prom nights can’t cause too much irreparable damage, right?

If you have a favorite horror movie I should check out, let me know. There’s a Talk to Me box on the right-hand side of the page that links directly to my e-mail, or you can click the link at the veeeeeery bottom of the page to “like” me on Facebook and do some conversatin’ with me there.

Looking forward to hearing from you, and happy hauntings!

Leave a Reply

